About Us

Board of Directors

Baroness Ford of Cunninghame


Appointed to the Board in June 2013, Margaret Ford has over 20 years experience as a non-Executive Director and Chairman of private and listed companies and extensive experience of working with Government. She is currently a non-Executive director of Taylor Wimpey plc, Segro plc and Grainger plc and the former Chairman of Barchester Healthcare Limited, the private healthcare provider. From 2009 to 2012, she was a member of the Olympic Board and Chairman of the Olympic Park Legacy Company. She was appointed to the House of Lords in 2006 and sits as an Independent Peer. Margaret is Chairman of the STV Appeal and in March 2015, was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh.

Rob Woodward

Chief Executive

Appointed to the Board in February 2007. Previously, Rob was Commercial Director of Channel 4 Television Corporation and on the main board. He achieved a dramatic turnaround of legacy businesses and built a set of successful new media and digital businesses. Rob was previously an MD of UBS Warburg and global COO of corporate finance in Media and Communications. Prior to this he was Managing Partner of Deloitte’s European Telecoms Media and Technology business and UK strategy consulting practice. Rob is a trustee of the STV Appeal charity. Rob was appointed Pro-Chancellor and Chair of the Council of City University London in February 2012, is a Trustee of Nesta and a non-executive director of Regenersis plc. In November 2014 Rob was appointed Chairman of the National Invest in Young People Group, which will lead work to support employer involvement in developing Scotland’s young workforce.

George Watt

Chief Financial Officer

Appointed to the Board in February 2001 as Group Finance Director. George is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Scotland. He joined the Company in 1998 as Group Financial Controller and Treasurer and prior to this worked with KPMG’s audit and assurance services practice in the UK and also in the US. George is a non executive director of DeltaDNA (formerly GamesAnalytics Ltd) and SpaceandPeople plc. George is also an executive committee member of the Scottish Council for Development and Industry and a trustee of the STV Appeal.

David Shearer

Senior Independent Director

Appointed to the Board in February 2007, David is an experienced board member, corporate financier and turnaround specialist and was previously senior partner for Scotland & Northern Ireland and a UK Executive Board member of Deloitte LLP. He recently stood down as Co-Chairman of Martin Currie (Holdings) Limited following its sale to Legg Mason Inc., is Chairman of Aberdeen New Dawn Investment Trust plc and the Scottish Edge Fund and a director of Mithras Investment Trust plc. He was previously the Chairman of Mouchel Group and Crest Nicholson plc and a non-executive director of City Inn Limited in each case standing down after completing the successful restructuring of these businesses. He was also a non-executive director of Renold plc, Superglass Holdings plc and Scottish Financial Enterprise and a Governor of The Glasgow School of Art.

Jamie Matheson

Non-Executive Director

Appointed to the Board in March 2007. Jamie's career spans some 40 years principally in the financial sector. He was, for eight years until his retiral in March 2013, Executive Chairman of Brewin Dolphin Holdings PLC, a leading private client investment manager. He was previously a non-executive director of Scottish Radio Holdings plc until its sale to EMAP plc, and a non-executive director of Maven Income and Growth VCT5 PLC from 2001 to 2013. He is a director of Scottish Financial Enterprise and he has a number of charitable interests including being a Director of The HMS Victory Preservation Company. Jamie is Chairman of the Beatson Cancer Charity, a non executive director of Latchways plc and Chairman of Saracen Fund Managers Ltd.

Michael Jackson

Non-Executive Director

Appointed to the Board in May 2009, Michael is an advisor, investor and director for digital and television businesses in the US and UK. Previously he was President of Programming at InterActiveCorp, the internet conglomerate, where he was responsible for overseeing the development, acquisition and distribution of content based websites. Prior to this Michael was Chairman of Universal Television Group, in charge of the creative and strategic direction of the television business. He served four years as Chief Executive Officer of Channel 4 Television, where, in addition to commissioning programmes, he refocused the channel to exploit digital opportunities and launched two new channels, FilmFour and E4. Before joining Channel 4, Michael worked as Controller of BBC1 and Director of Television, and as Controller of BBC2. He was previously a non executive director of EMI Group plc. Michael is a non-executive director of Nutopia, an independent TV production company based in the UK and USA and of Peters, Fraser & Dunlop, the UK literary agency.

Genevieve Shore

Non-Executive Director

Genevieve Shore joined the Board in March 2012. Genevieve has been working in digital strategy and technology for the last seven years, most recently as the CIO and Chief Product Officer for Pearson PLC where she had responsibility for all enterprise platforms from the cloud, finance and data systems to content delivery and learning services. Previously Genevieve has held leadership roles with Pearson Group including Global Digital Director, Penguin and Group Sales Director, Penguin. Genevieve is an advisory board member of Great Fridays, a digital design services company in San Francisco and of Scoot & Doodle and the Education Appstore. She is a non executive director of Moneysupermarket.com Group Plc and of Next 15 Communications Group plc.

Christian Woolfenden

Non-Executive Director

Appointed to the Board in June 2014, Christian Woolfenden has extensive consumer marketing and digital experience. He is Managing Director for Paddy Power, the betting and gaming operator. Previously Christian was Global Brand Director for Bacardi, responsible for marketing and product innovation in over 20 markets worldwide. Christian began his career at Proctor & Gamble working in both finance and marketing roles across key European businesses.

Anne Marie Cannon

Non-Executive Director

Anne Marie Cannon has over 30 years experience in the energy industry and investment banking. For the past 14 years Anne Marie was a senior advisor at Morgan Stanley specialising in international upstream mergers and acquisitions. Anne Marie has previously held financial and commercial roles with Shell UK, J Henry Schroder Wagg and Thomson North Sea and was an executive director on the boards of Hardy Oil and Gas and British Borneo. She served on the board of Aker ASA and is currently is a non-executive director with Premier Oil and Deputy Chair of Det Norske Oljeselskap.