STV City channels to show Scottish crime drama, The Crews

Tagged in: Press Releases
A Scottish independent production company is getting the opportunity to showcase their locally produced drama on STV’s city channels in a broadcast premiere.
Glasgow based Foghorn Entertainment’s crime series The Crews will be broadcast nightly on STV Edinburgh and STV Glasgow from Monday 23 May at 23.00.
The six part series stars Scottish actors Robert Harrison, Jim Sweeney, Jennifer Byrne and Sean O'Kane with high profile guest stars including David Hayman, Anne Downie and Stephen McCole.
The drama follows the intertwining paths of two Glasgow gangsters, once friends but now the heads of rival crews in Glasgow's gritty crime underworld.
Veteran criminal Mick Turner discovers that his plans for a lucrative retirement have been scuppered by one of his own crew, while retired gangster Tommy Granger’s past is dug up when an old crew member comes knocking for money on the anniversary of the murder of Tommy’s son.
Elizabeth Partyka, deputy director of channels at STV, said: “Our city channels are the perfect platform for locally produced drama and for supporting local talent, and I’m excited to bring this fresh, edge-of-your-seat gangster show to the viewers of STV Glasgow and STV Edinburgh.”
Director Colin Ross Smith said: “When we first started working on The Crews we dreamed that the pilot would take off, and so it fuelled our imaginations as we sunk our teeth into what would be our most ambitious project yet; an ensemble crime drama that would cross the continent and back and be made to a standard that would impress enough to see the show grow legs. 
“So much hard work was put into the project and it pleases me greatly that it will not go to waste, and that we will see the works of our amazing and talented cast and crew put out to a wider audience. I am very excited to see how viewers react to the show that we all put five years of blood, sweat and tears into.”
The Crews was created by director/producer Colin Ross Smith, writer/producer Kolin Ferguson, actor/producer Jim Sweeney and actor/producer Robert Harrison, and features a score by Teenage Fan Club’s Francis Macdonald.
STV’s city channels will also broadcast The Crews as two 45 minute episodes on Monday 30 May at 22.00.
STV Glasgow and STV Edinburgh are available on Freeview channel 8, Sky channel 117 and Virgin channel 159 in their broadcast areas.
For further information, please contact the STV press office:- 
Richard Holligan
0141 300 3416
Anna Hendry
0141 300 3830
Cast list
Main cast:
Robert Harrison - Tommy Granger
Jim Sweeney - Mick Turner
Sean O'Kane – Strachan
Mischa Van Der Klei - Dutchy Van DerWaal
Andrew McIntosh - Stevie Turner
Jennifer Byrne – Coulter
Stuart Hepburn - DCS Watt
Joe Cassidy – Drummond
Chris Summers - Jimmy Kergan
Scott Kyle - Kenny McFadden
Ross Maxwell - Jake Ferguson
John Gaffney - Dougie Fallon
Joy McAvoy - Dawn
Lauren Lamarr - Anne Paterson
Rebekah Lamb - Emma Harrison
John Love - Sandy Dean
Hamish Menzies - DS Paul Docherty
Dave McClure - DI Tam Monroe
John McQuiston - Terry Gant PI
Julie Pope - Julie Harrison
Guest stars:
David Hayman – Paddy Mullen
Johnny Meres - Kruger
Stephen McCole - Pepe
Anne Downie - Dorothy
Bryan Larkin – Grassie
John Higgins - Himself