Channel 4 has announced the cast joining Screw, a 6x60’ drama from STV Studios, by BAFTA nominated writer Rob Williams (The Victim, Killing Eve). This is prison as never seen before - the uncensored, shocking and often darkly funny reality of life as a prison officer in an all-male prison in 21st century Britain.
At the head of our gang of embattled prison officer ‘screws’ is Leigh (Nina Sosanya – His Dark Materials, Killing Eve) a woman who has devoted her entire adult life to this prison and its population. On a wing bursting at the seams, at the front line of a train-wreck of broken bureaucracy and short-term thinking, Leigh keeps her inmates in line and has their backs when they need it. But she is an enigma to her team, and has her own secrets that if discovered could cost her more than her job.
Into the pressure cooker of Long Marsh Prison enters Rose (Jamie-Lee O’Donnell – Derry Girls), a 21 year old trainee officer. It’s a baptism of fire even for this street smart young woman. She joins fellow screws Ali (Faraz Ayub - Line of Duty, Bodyguard), Gary (Stephen Wight - I May Destroy You, Manhunt), Don (Ron Donachie - Deadwater Fell, Game of Thrones), and Jackie (Laura Checkley - King Gary, Detectorists). They will be joined by other prison staff, Toby (Jack Bardoe - Belgravia) and Raheem (Jorden Myrie – Dancing in the Dark).
Inspired by the creator’s experience of working and volunteering in prisons, this series brings us a view of incarceration unlike any other. Through a vibrant and multi-layered cast of characters, Screw tackles contemporary stories head on – but always cut through with comedy, irreverence and heart. Filming begins in Glasgow in early May.
Sarah Brown, STV Studios’ Creative Director of Drama said: We are incredibly excited about the extraordinary group of actors we’ve assembled for Screw. Rob Williams’ compelling, hilarious and thought-provoking scripts couldn’t be in better hands; we can’t wait to see audiences falling in love with our brilliant prison officer ‘family’. Following our two most recent home-grown productions – The Victim and Elizabeth is Missing - we’re especially pleased to be shooting another drama in Scotland, and working once again with the wealth of creative talent behind the scenes here.”
Caroline Hollick, Channel 4 Head of Drama, said:Screw offers the audience an insight into the challenges and struggles faced behind bars for both prisoners and prison officers; told with humour, humanity and hope. I’m so excited for our brilliant, distinctive cast, led by the superlative Nina Sosanya, and I hope Jamie-Lee O’Donnell’s dramatic new role will her see fast becoming an iconic face of Channel 4.”
Banijay Rights will manage global distribution for the series. Simon Cox, SVP Acquisitions, said: “Led by Nina Sosanya, STV and Channel 4 have cast an excellent group of globally recognised actors, for this unflinching but heartening drama set in a world of incarceration unlike any other. The multi-faceted characters written by Rob Williams bring heart and humour to this somewhat gritty world, and we expect great interest from international buyers.”
Screw is supported by Screen Scotland's Production Growth Fund. David Smith, Director of Screen at Screen Scotland said:Screw presents a fantastic opportunity for STV Studios, fresh from the multi-award-winning Elizabeth is Missing, and the wider industry in Scotland.”
Screw is an STV Studios production for Channel 4, commissioned by Caroline Hollick, Channel 4 Head of Drama and overseen by Lee Mason, Channel 4 Commissioning Editor and Gemma Boswell, Channel 4 Head of Development.  Rob Williams is Creator, Lead Writer and Executive Producer, with Karla Crome and Roanne Bardsley completing the writing team.  Sarah Brown is Executive Producer for STV Studios (The Victim, Elizabeth is Missing) and Brian Kaczynski, Producer (The Cry, Peaky Blinders).

Media contact:
Kirstin Stevenson, STV Studios | 07803970106
* Screen Scotland funding awards remain offers of funding until such time as all terms and conditions have been formally accepted and fulfilled by the award recipient.