STV and the Royal Television Society (RTS) have announced this year’s recipients of their joint undergraduate bursary. STV has selected eight TV Production and Journalism bursary recipients and one Digital Innovation recipient for 2023, who will receive financial support, an STV mentor and work experience.

The students will also receive a free RTS membership while studying, with an additional year after they graduate, and in their final year of study, the RTS will set up mentoring opportunities, matching each awardee with one of their industry members.

The STV scholars for 2023 are:

TV Production and Journalism

  • Alastair McGowan, Television BA (Hons), City of Glasgow College
  • Ava Scott-Nadal, Film and Television Studies/Philosophy, The University of Glasgow
  • Emma Wood, Television (Advanced entry), Edinburgh Napier University
  • Emma Comfort, English Literature/Film and Television Studies, The University of Glasgow
  • Kamal Aziz, Journalism Studies, The University of Stirling
  • Lee Degnan, Filmmaking and Screen Writing, The University of the West of Scotland
  • Madelaine Guildford, Film and Television Studies, The University of Glasgow
  • Michaella Tracey, Television, City of Glasgow College

Digital Innovation

  • Sofia Happy Banya Ceregido, Computer and Electronic Systems, The University of Strathclyde

Blockquote open This year we have received the highest number of applications to date and have had the difficult task of narrowing this down. It is extremely important to the RTS to provide support, guidance and opportunities to the next generation who will be building and changing the UK and international television industry and we couldn’t do this without the support and donations we receive. Blockquote close

Theresa Wise CEO, Royal Television Society